Notify Message
Forums
Page 1
Search
#8149885 Jul 17, 2013 at 11:35 AM
Initiate
4 Posts
The Hypergrid article @proximalzone posted mentioned an OpenSim called ScienceSim by Intel. It looks very interesting - not just an education sim but also also being used to model complex systems.
An example that would translate well to the classroom is their Gaming for Water Use sim - players take roles of farmers and developers and have to share a reducing water supply.
Do any of you know how to get a login for ScienceSim? Do any of you know who I should get in touch with to try out the water sim? I think it would be very relevant here in Texas.
+1
#8150531 Jul 17, 2013 at 01:41 PM · Edited 6 years ago
Initiate
110 Posts
You could try emailing one of the people at Intel Labs, although I don't know if they'll respond. (I've had mixed success with this in the past.) The two authors of their most recent papers on scalable worlds are Mic Bowman and Huaiyu Liu (their emails are of the format firstname.lastname@intel.com).
+0
#8150559 Jul 17, 2013 at 01:46 PM
Initiate
110 Posts
Although I'm not sure if they're the what you're looking for, you could also check out NetLogo or StarLogo TNG.
+0
#8174481 Jul 22, 2013 at 12:36 PM
Guild Officer
354 Posts
Here's the information from the VIBE OpenSim.

OpenSim VIBE Grid
http://wiki.bio-se.info/doku.php

Weekly meetings take place every Friday at 8 am SLT (11 am EST, 16:00 London) 1st and 3rd Fridays on the VIBE hypergrid. 2nd and 4th Fridays at the Staff House in Second Life. Please contact Stephen Xootfly if you wish to attend or just drop-in unannounced and say hello.

twitter @kzenovka
www.center4edupunx
Games MOOC Instructor and Designer
Google + gamesmooc@gmail.com



+0
Page 1